12 Local Teachers Up For Top Honor

A total of 56 teachers in the county are in the running for Teacher of the Year. Semifinalists will be announced this week.

Who will be the Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year? (Credit: Patch file)
Who will be the Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year? (Credit: Patch file)
A dozen educators from schools serving the Odenton and Severn area are among those in the running to be named Teacher of the Year in Anne Arundel County. 

The teachers are part of a group of 56 educators from across the county who will be honored at the 28th Annual Excellence in Education Awards banquet on April 29.

Last year's Teacher of the Year was Jodie Hogan, a Spanish teacher from South River High, who went on to be a finalist for Maryland State Teacher of the Year. 

Here's the list of the 12 local teachers nominated. For the full list, click here.  Semifinalists for the Teacher of the Year honor will be announced this week. 
  • Alyson Bradford, Odenton Elementary School
  • David A. Christopher, Old Mill Middle School North
  • Damian Ferragamo, Old Mill High School
  • Lindsey Hammond, Quarterfield Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Hewitt, Jessup Elementary School
  • Jessica Howell, Manor View Elementary School
  • Jessica Nolan, Frank Hebron-Harman Elementary School
  • Susan Marie Sheehy, Millersville Elementary School
  • Jennifer Swiech, Meade Middle School
  • Stacey Walczak, Seven Oaks Elementary School
  • Brad Wray, Arundel High School
  • Amy Brunner, Archbishop Spalding High School


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something