News Alert
Most of Maryland Under Severe Thunderstorm Watch

Maryland Primary Congressional Election Results

Check out the charts below for preliminary results in Tuesday's primary elections.


Sen. Ben Cardin easily won the Democratic primary Tuesday for U.S. Senate, far outpacing his closest challenger, state Sen. C. Anthony Muse of Prince George’s County. Cardin, 68, will run for his second term against the winner of the Republican primary—which, as of 10 p.m., was a tight race between candidates Dan Bogino and Richard J. Douglas.

Incumbent candidates easily won their Congressional primaries throughout the state—including Anne Arundel County's representatives in Districts 1, 2 and 3. 

Republican Rep. Andy Harris in District 1 and Democrat C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger in District 2 ran unopposed in their primary races. Rep. John Sarbanes in District 3 won his primary easily. 

Republican state Sen. Nancy C. Jacobs of Harford County was winning her party's primary Tuesday and was the likely contender to take on Ruppersberger in November. It is unclear what Democrat Harris will face, as the race between Wendy Rosen and John LeFerla is too close to call.

Incumbent Congressional candidates who faced nominal challenges all appear poised to win their party's nominations to run in November: Sarbanes, Rep. Steny Hoyer, Rep. Donna Edwards, Rep. Elijah Cummings, Rep. Chris Van Hollen, and Rep. Roscoe Bartlett.

Only Bartlett, who faced seven challengers, saw a competitive race. State Sen. David R. Brinkley was Bartlett's lead challenger, garnering about 21 percent of the GOP vote Tuesday at 10 p.m. Bartlett was leading with slightly more than 44 percent.

Congressional District 1      Candidates          Percent of Vote Democrats

John LeFerla

43% Kim Letke 13.5% Wendy Rosen 43% Republicans Andy Harris Unopposed Congressional District 2      Candidates Percent of Vote Democrats C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Unopposed Republicans Ray Bly 1.76% Vlad Degen 1.4% Rick Impallaria 23% Nancy C. Jacobs 61% Howard H. Orton 2% Larry Smith 11% Congressional District 3      Candidates Percent of Vote Democrats John Sarbanes      87% David Lockwood 13% Republicans Armand Girard 23% Thomas E. Pinkston Harris 30% Eric D. Knowles 33% Draper Phelps 14% Congressional District 4 Democrats Donna E. Edwards 92% Ian Garner 3% George McDermott 5% Republicans Randy Gearhart 20% Greg Holmes 10% Faith M. Loudon 60% Charles Shepherd 10%           Congressional District 5 Democrats Steny H. Hoyer 84% Cathy Johnson Pendleton 15% Republicans David Hill 13% Glenn Morton 11% Tony O'Donnell 75% Congressional District 6 Democrats Charles Bailey 4% John Delaney 55% Rob Garagiola 27% Ron Little 4% Milad Pooran 11% Republicans Kathy Afzali 9% Roscoe Bartlett 45% David R. Brinkley 21% Robert Coblentz 2% Robin Flicker 6% Peter James 2% Joseph T. Krysztoforski 9% Brandon Orman Rippeon 6% Congressional District 7 Democrats Ty Glen Busch 3% Elijah Cummings 92% Charles U. Smith 5% Republicans M. Justin Kinsey 32% Frank C. Mirabile 68% Congressional District 8 Democrats George English 10% Chris Van Hollen 90%


Republicans Gus Alzona 8% Shelly Skolnick 11% Ken Timmerman 45% Dave Wallace 36%


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »