Gallery: County Police Awards Honor Officers,Civilians

Pfc. Eric Cole of Western District, who has worked with students in Maryland City, was among those honored at the Anne Arundel County Police Department's 19th Annual Awards banquet.

A police officer from Western District was among those honored  Wednesday night at the Anne Arundel County Police Department's 19th annual awards banquet at  in Glen Burnie.

Pfc. Eric Cole, who has served as a mentor to young people in the Maryland City community, was recognized along with other police officers and civilians.

Chief of Police Col. James Teare Sr. said those who received awards went the extra mile to do their job or to help someone else.

"They recognized danger, but did not run from it," he said. "They have earned the title of hero. I would like to thank the families for sharing their loved ones with us every day."

Majors Ed Bergin and Thomas Wilson assisted Teare with the distribution of certificates. The Anne Arundel County Police Foundation also provided colored ribbons for uniforms to signify the awards.

Cole was previously honored in March by the Western District Police-Community Relations Council, getting special recognition for making 118 arrests and issuing 460 traffic citations in 2010.  He was also praised for his  Thursday morning visits to students at Maryland City Elementary School.

"I just like doing it,” Cole told Patch in March. “Some of it is just giving them what they’re not getting at home.”

In addition to Cole, those who received the Police Officer of the Year awards were: Cpl. Daniel DeLorenzo of the Eastern District, Cpl. Mark Balonis of the Northern District, Pfc. Travis Ott of the Southern District, Cpl. Jon Carrier of the Special Enforcement Division, Detective Timothy Holevas of the Criminal Investigation Division and Officer Jeffrey Rothenbecker of the Special Operations Division.

Six citizen's awards for Outstanding Service to the Community were presented for heroic efforts in the county.

  • Sgt. Sherman Buchanan of the Baltimore County Police Department assisted with the apprehension of a robbery suspect. 
  • Gilbert Engle thwarted an attempted sexual assault and provided a suspect description to the officers.
  • Steven Wright removed a trapped driver from a vehicle involved in a serious crash.
  • Alisha Gorham reported a homicide and tried to revive the victim.
  • Thomas Kilby gave officers information that led to the capture of a serial burglar.
  • Craig Mathew detained an armed suspect and prevented a possible carjacking.

Those who received the Department Letter of Commendation included Cpl. Clinton Scott and Detective Jason DiPietro.

The Department Unit Citation Award went to members of the Criminal Investigation Division's Homicide Unit, the Special Enforcement Section's Major Offenders Unit and the Special Enforcement Section's Tactical Narcotics Team.

Those who received the Department Commendation Award were: Pfc. Michael Valentin, Cpl. Michael Harper, Sgt. Thomas Newman, Sgt. Rhonda Osborne, Cpl. Sammy Brown, Officer William Dashiells and Cpl. Luke Ringler.

The Silver Star Award was given to Pfc. Joshua Binner, who is credited with risking injury or death to subdue a dangerous, career criminal during a violent struggle, according to the police department.

The Chief's Award for Job Excellence went to Capt. Eric Hodge of the Emergency Operations Center, Lt. Herbert Hasenpusch of the Western District, Detective Joseph Goldberg of the Northern District and Cpl. Douglas Brangan of the Traffic Safety Section.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »